Preview Mode Links will not work in preview mode

Oct 4, 2023

Can you believe there are less than 12 weeks until the start of the holiday season? In this episode, Lee and Stacey chat about our annual 12 Weeks of Gifting, a series of free patterns released once a week leading up to the winter holidays. They share the concept behind it and how it began as well as how patterns are selected for it. Both of our hosts also created new designs for this year’s set of 12 patterns and describe their creative process for them.
 
In addition to 12 Weeks of Gifting, there’s so much more going on! The Axiom KAL just started, so producer Andi hopped on to join Stacey in discussing starting the sweater. Lee and Stacey also talk about two new pattern collections and oodles of new yarns and new yarn colors.
 
00:03 Welcome to the Knit Picks Podcast!
00:36 Lee and Stacey share what they’ve been crafting in their free time.
02:29 Andi joins Lee and Stacey to discuss the Axiom KAL.
07:50 Lee isn’t participating in the KAL but has a Swish Pops sweater on her needles.
09:03 The 12 Weeks of Gifting are here! Stacey and Lee give the backstory behind our annual series of free patterns. 
17:20 Lee designed two patterns for 12 Weeks of Gifting and describes that process along with Stacey.
25:44 We’ve got a new book called Déjà Yarn: Solid Color Stashbusters! 
29:02 We’ve also got a new mini eBook called Heirloom: Cable Knits in Tweed.
33:22 Stacey’s dream has finally come true! Woodland Tweed is now available in gorgeous colors! 
38:10 Hawthorne DK has arrived, perfect for heavy socks.
40:00 Lee’s excited about our new super bulky Fluff of the Andes and new colors of Alla Prima.
48:42 Lee, Stacey, and Andi tease two new yarns that will be coming soon in November.
51:55 Credits
 
Axiom Sweater pattern https://www.knitpicks.com/axiom-sweater/p/52918D?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

Axiom knit-along https://blog.knitpicks.com/tag/axiom-kal/?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

Axiom KAL introduction https://blog.knitpicks.com/68474-2/?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

How to Convert a Seamed Sweater to Seamless https://blog.knitpicks.com/how-to-convert-a-seamed-sweater-to-seamless/?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

Axiom KAL tag on Instagram https://www.instagram.com/explore/tags/axiomkal/

Swish Pops yarn https://www.knitpicks.com/yarn/swish-pops/c/5420478?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

Lee's Swish Pops cardigan project (ravelry link) https://www.ravelry.com/projects/leethal/cropped-cardi

12 Weeks of Gifting 2023 https://www.knitpicks.com/patterns/12-weeks-of-gifting-2023/c/300202?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

12 Weeks of Gifting on crochet.com https://www.crochet.com/patterns/twelve-weeks-of-gifting/c/500204?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

Brava Recycle yarn https://www.knitpicks.com/yarn/brava-recycle/c/5420475?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

Sugar Twist Cowl pattern https://www.knitpicks.com/sugar-twist-cowl/p/55977?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

15th Street Wrap pattern https://www.knitpicks.com/15th-street-wrap/p/55967?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

4th Street Wrap pattern https://www.knitpicks.com/4th-street-wrap/p/56396?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

Wool of the Andes Bulky yarn https://www.knitpicks.com/yarn/wool-of-the-andes-bulky/c/5420155?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

Wool of the Andes Superwash Bulky https://www.knitpicks.com/yarn/wool-of-the-andes-superwash-bulky/c/5420256?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

Déjà Yarn book https://www.knitpicks.com/deja-yarn-single-color-stashbusters/p/33966?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

Déjà Yarn eBook https://www.knitpicks.com/deja-yarn-single-color-stashbuster-ebook/p/75455D?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

Heirloom: Cable Knits in Tweed eBook https://www.knitpicks.com/heirloom-cable-knits-in-tweed-ebook/p/75454D?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

#cooltweedfall on instagram https://www.instagram.com/explore/tags/cooltweedfall/

Galloway Pullover pattern https://www.knitpicks.com/galloway-pullover/p/51073D?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

Fiddlehead Cardigan pattern https://www.knitpicks.com/fiddlehead-cardigan/p/51352D?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

Forge Scarf pattern https://www.knitpicks.com/forge-scarf/p/52934D?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

Woodland Tweed yarn https://www.knitpicks.com/yarn/woodland-tweed/c/5420479?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

Woodland Tweed Bare yarn https://www.knitpicks.com/yarn/bare-woodland-tweed/c/5420329?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

Morrison Beret pattern https://www.knitpicks.com/morrison-beret/p/51034D?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

Hawthorne DK yarn https://www.knitpicks.com/yarn/hawthorne-dk/c/5420481?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

Hawthorne Fingering yarn https://www.knitpicks.com/yarn/hawthorne-fingering/c/5420251?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

Fluff of the Andes yarn https://www.knitpicks.com/yarn/fluff-of-the-andes/c/5420483?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

Wool of the Andes yarn family https://www.knitpicks.com/yarn/wool-of-the-andes/c/30015001?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

Alla Prima yarn https://www.knitpicks.com/yarn/alla-prima/c/5420456?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

Alla Prima multicolored yarn https://www.knitpicks.com/yarn/alla-prima/c/5420456?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

Simply Wool yarn https://www.knitpicks.com/yarn/simply-wool-aran/c/5420318?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

Simply Alpaca yarn https://www.knitpicks.com/yarn/simply-alpaca-aran/c/5420319?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

Alpaca Cloud yarns https://www.knitpicks.com/search?q=alpaca+cloud?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

Spumoni Hat pattern https://www.knitpicks.com/spumoni-hat/p/56375?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371

All Bare Yarns https://www.knitpicks.com/yarn/bare-dye-your-own/c/300110?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode371