Preview Mode Links will not work in preview mode

Oct 18, 2023

It’s the perfect time of year for quick knits, and we were so delighted to feature several patterns from George of 10 Hours or Less in our latest stash-buster pattern collection, Déjà Yarn. You can probably guess what kind of patterns George specializes in (ones that take less than 10 hours to make), but you’ll be amazed to hear about his long career in the knitting industry that predates digital patterns. George also shares a glimpse inside his design process as he explains how he created his Art Deco Artisan Headband and Rolling Ribbing Hat for Déjà Yarn.
 
Plus, Lee, Stacey, and Andi chat about their current projects, the Axiom KAL, and knitting while watching movies or reading. 
 
00:02 Welcome to the Knit Picks Podcast.
00:46 Lee and Stacey share what they’ve been up to.
06:50 Andi joins Stacey to chat about Axiom.
13:20 Stacey and Lee talk more in depth about Déjà Yarn.
20:05 Lee and Stacey and joined by George from 10 Hours or Less who shares his background.
30:47 George shares his process for his two patterns in Déjà Yarn.
42:27 Stacey and George give some hints about a future 12 Weeks of Gifting pattern!
43:17 George is a big part of the Indie Design Gift Along and provides more information about how to participate.
53:55 George shares where else to find him and his 10 Hours of Less patterns. 
55:13 Credits
 
Swish Pops yarn https://www.knitpicks.com/yarn/swish-pops/c/5420478?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode372

Lee's Swish Pops cardigan project (ravelry link) https://www.ravelry.com/projects/leethal/cropped-cardi

Hawthorne DK https://www.knitpicks.com/yarn/hawthorne-dk/c/5420481?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode372

Lee's Movie Theatre Sweater (ravelry link) https://www.ravelry.com/projects/leethal/theya-pullover

Axiom Sweater pattern https://www.knitpicks.com/axiom-sweater/p/52918D?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode372

Axiom knit-along https://blog.knitpicks.com/tag/axiom-kal/?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode372

Axiom progress so far https://www.instagram.com/p/CyOYAWsMCW8/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link&igshid=MzRlODBiNWFlZA==

How to Convert a Seamed Sweater to Seamless https://blog.knitpicks.com/how-to-convert-a-seamed-sweater-to-seamless/?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode372

Knitting & Reading At The Same Time blogpost https://blog.knitpicks.com/knitting-reading-at-the-same-time/?utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode372

Deja Yarn: Single Color Stashbusters https://www.knitpicks.com/sale/deja-yarn-single-color-stashbusters/c/302139?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode372

Prerogative Cowl https://www.knitpicks.com/prerogative-cowl/p/54214D?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode372

Holil Yeoh patterns: https://www.knitpicks.com/patterns/holli-yeoh/c/30026807?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode372

Wonderfluff Ombre https://www.knitpicks.com/yarn/wonderfluff-ombr/c/5420427?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode372

Urwen Cowl https://www.knitpicks.com/urwen-cowl/p/54210D?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode372

Claire Slade patterns https://www.knitpicks.com/patterns/claire-slade/c/30026803?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode372

Heatherly Worsted https://www.knitpicks.com/yarn/heatherly-worsted/c/5420451?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode372

High Desert Worsted https://www.knitpicks.com/yarn/high-desert-worsted/c/5420425?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode372

Weekend Lounging Socks https://www.knitpicks.com/weekend-lounging-socks/p/54215D?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode372

Art Deco Artisan Headband https://www.knitpicks.com/art-deco-artisan-headband/p/54213D?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode372


Rolling Ribbing Hat https://www.knitpicks.com/rolling-ribbing-hat/p/54212D?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode372

Swish Worsted https://www.knitpicks.com/yarn/swish-worsted/c/5420153?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode372

Swish DK https://www.knitpicks.com/yarn/swish-dk/c/5420168?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode372

12 Weeks of Gifting 2023 patterns https://www.knitpicks.com/patterns/12-weeks-of-gifting-2023/c/300202?&utm_source=libsyn&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=podcast&utm_content=episode372

Indie Design Gift-A-Long (Ravelry link) https://www.ravelry.com/groups/indie-design-gift-a-long

10 Hours or Less user profile (Ravelry link) https://www.ravelry.com/people/10HoursorLess

10 hours or Less patterns on Ravelry (ravelry link) https://www.ravelry.com/designers/10-hours-or-less

10 Hours or Less patterns on Lovecrafts https://www.lovecrafts.com/en-us/user/maker/459f818e-d58a-442b-8e15-8dead451fdab

10 Hours or Less on Instagram https://www.instagram.com/10hoursorless/